Tell me about it

I know it seems a little dramatic to keep focussing on that day, February 24, 2012, but its the day my life changed. It’s the only time in my life with all seriousness I can say, “I almost died”.

I find it crazy and surreal. I consider that nearly a year before I was fighting with the monster in my head. Fighting against despair. And then, as I saw the light at the end of the tunnel, I was suddenly fighting for my life. With my body. It betrayed me.

I was thinking the other day how I’ve maybe changed. I know I take more responsibility for my nutrition and for any choices that keep me from or make me feel crappy in a given day.

While I still slack with a workout, I do at least one exercise a day. It seems small, but I think it’s helping. It’s a plank for 60 seconds. They’re hard, trust me. I always describe it as the top of a push-up. Even when I’m exhausted, I do one for at least 30-60 seconds. See, I miss yoga. I’ve slacked on my practice a while back and with the fluid in my abdomen, it seems harder to get  back in to. My stomach won’t condense. My forword folds lack form and I can’t get comfortable in child’s pose. So, I’ve started small.

Any change is super slow. But I know I’m starting to have a waist again and my arms are taking up less room in sleeves. My cardio leaves a lot to be desired but I need to do 30  minutes 3x per week. Starting today.

I know I will have to lose weight for the transplant. I’m thinking about 50 lbs. At least I know that’s my goal weight. So, I’m also trying to follow a high protein, high fiber, low phosphorous diet.

Its hit or miss and fortunately, I have very few restrictions if any. I am the anti-kidney patient patient. Fortunately all my labs are good and my general nutrition is good. Now I just have to figure out how to adjust it so I can lose weight.

I don’t typically talk about this stuff. I feel like if I share my diet and workout, I’ll stop. So I’m taking a chance on you.

Here we go.

Leave a Reply

